2019 AWARDS: Recognising scientific and professional excellence


2019 AWARDS: Recognising scientific and professional excellence

As we wrap up the 2019 EUROTOX congress, we want to highlight the various awards presented in Helsinki, and congratulate the respective recipients for their scientific contributions and professional excellence in toxicology. 


EUROTOX honours annually a distinguished European toxicologist with the Merit Award. This year's Merit Award recipient is Prof. Dr. Ursula Gundert-Remy.

Prof. Heather Wallace, EUROTOX President (2018-2020) presents the 2019 EUROTOX Merit Award to Prof. Dr. Ursula Gundert-Remy at the opening ceremony of the Helsinki congress held September 8, 2019.


The Bo Holmstedt Memorial Foundation (BHMF) Lecture Award is presented every year during the EUROTOX congress to recognise scientists who have made outstanding research contributions to the science of drug or chemical toxicology. This year's award recipient is Dr. Wout Slob (The Netherlands).

Dr. Wout Slob, recipient of the 2019 Bo Holmstedt Lecture Award, accepts the award presented by Prof. Herman Autrup (BHMF) and Prof. Heather Wallace (EUROTOX President) during the EUROTOX Helsinki congress, September 11, 2019


Early career toxicologists are encouraged by the annual Early Career Awards for best poster presentation in two distinct categories. The EUROTOX Gerhard-Zbinden award for drug-oriented toxicological research was presented to Dr. Cátia Filipa Marques, from Centro de Química Estrutural, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal for the work on "New insights into Montelukast metabolism – possible implications to the drug’s adverse effects". The ECETOC Christa Hennes Award for toxicological research into mechanisms and risk assessment was presented to Dr. Julia Kühnlenz, from TissUse GmbH, Contract Development, Berlin, Germany, for the work on "Establishment of a Multi-Organ-Chip based identification platform for endocrine disruptors".  A highly commended mention in this category was presented to Dr. Govind  Sharan  Gupta, from Karolinska Institutet, Institute of Environmental Medicine, Division of Molecular Toxicology, Stockholm, Sweden, for the work on "Cobalt-impregnated tungsten nanoparticles and cobalt ions trigger toxicity in differentiating neuronal cells: potential link to parkinsonian neurodegeneration".

See entire list of awards and photos.


Recognising individuals who have rendered distinguished service to foster toxicology across Europe, the 2019 EUROTOX Honorary Member recognition was presented to Prof. Jay Goodman (USA) during the EUROTOX Helsinki Council Meeting (BCM) held in Helsinki, September 10, 2019.

The 2019 EUROTOX Honorary Member recognition presented to Prof. Jay Goodman by EUROTOX President, Prof. Heather Wallace, during the 2019 Business Council meeting held in Helsinki, September 10, 2019.