Merit Award

The EUROTOX Merit Award aims at recognising a distinguished career in European toxicology.

The EUROTOX Merit Award is presented annually at the EUROTOX Congress to a European toxicologist with a long and outstanding career in the discipline. Achievements in academia, public service or industry may be recognized. Emphasis should be put on individual contributions strengthening the science of toxicology.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be submitted in writing by National Society EUROTOX Members, by EURO­TOX Speciality Sections, or by at least 3 individual EUROTOX members. Nominations have to be motivated, including a short cv and a list of 5 to 10 key publications, and must reach the Secreta­ry-General by January of  the year for consideration. The Awardee is invited to the Congress were he/she will be presented with an award.

2023 Award Recipient

Merit award presentation Domingo
Pictured in photo, President Felix Carvalho (left) presents the Merit Award to Jose L. Domingo (right) during the EUROTOX2023 congress opening held in Ljubljana, September 10, 2023.

Past award recipients

2022: Aristides M. Tsatsakis (Greece)

2021: Thomas Hartung (Germany)

2019: Ursula Gundert-Remy (Germany)

2018: Corrado L. Galli (Italy)

2017: Bas J. Blaauboer (The Netherlands)

2016: Rolf Schulte-Hermann (Austria)

2015: Susan Barlow (UK)

2014: Dieter Schrenk (Germany)

2013: Herman Autrup (Denmark)

2012: Peter Moldeus (Sweden)

2011: Gerhard J. Nohynek (Germany)

2010: Henk Van Loveren (The Netherlands)

2009: Alan Boobis (UK)

2008: Vito Foà (Italy)

2007: Robert Kroes (The Netherlands)

2006: Jouko Tuomisto (Finland)

2005: Erik Dybing (Norway)

2004: Helena Rasková (Czech Republic)

2003: Victor Feron (The Netherlands)

2002: Ian Purchase (UK)

2001: Herman Bolt (Germany)

2000: Anthony Dayan (UK)

1999: Jens Schou (Denmark)

1998: Martin Johnson (UK)

1997: Sten Orrenius (Sweden)

1996: Robert Hess (Switzerland)

1995: Dietrich Henschler (Germany)

1994: Norman Aldridge (UK)

1993: Bo Holmstedt (Sweden)

1992: Gerhard Zbinden (Switzerland)