I am pleased to announce September 26-29, 2021, as the new dates of the 2021 EUROTOX congress taking place in Copenhagen, Denmark.

As previously announced, the EUROTOX Executive Committee in conjunction with the Local Organising Committee (LOC) in Denmark and K.I.T. Group, took the decision to postpone to 2021, the EUROTOX 2020 Copenhagen congress orginally scheduled to take place, September 6-9.  The decision was not taken lightly, and a number of options were investigated and discussed before agreeing to postpone the congress to 2021.

This is a great disappointment, but with the current uncertainty around the COVID-19 situation, we felt we needed to make a decision in the best interests of all; the speakers, the exhibitors and our delegates.  

The Executive Committee and the Scientific Programme Committee will work together in the next few months to prepare the programme for the 2021 congress.  Some changes will be necessary due to the availability of speakers, and the timeliness of the session content. 

Furthermore, this decision will have knock on effects for congresses already planned in 2021 and 2023.  I have been in touch with the Chairs of the LOC for Ljubljana (2021) and Athens (2023) and they were both understanding and supportive. 

The current situation is that the next three EUROTOX congresses will be:

2021      Copenhagen

2023      Ljubljana

2024      Athens

The ICT congress in 2022 will remain in Maastricht.

The EUROTOX Executive Committee appreciates the disruption this decision may cause all parties involved, but we hope that you understand that it was made to ensure the safety of our EUROTOX family, and maintain the integrity of our annual congress.  We hope that we can continue to count with your support as we navigate our way through this situation.

Please keep safe and well.

Heather M Wallace

President of EUROTOX



The European Partnership for Alternative Approaches to Animal Testing's (EPAA) 2020 3Rs Science Prize is now open for submissions.

EPAA promotes the development, validation and acceptance of 3Rs alternative approaches (replacement, reduction and refinement of testing on animals).

The 3Rs science prize is granted every two years to a scientist with an outstanding contribution to 3Rs.

This initiative promotes positive contributions from industry or academia and encourage more scientists to focus their research on the 3Rs goals. Scientists working on relevant methods for regulatory testing (e.g. safety, efficacy, batch testing) providing an outstanding contribution to the use of the 3Rs may apply for the prize.

The call is available on the EPAA website.  Submissions must be sent via email to grow‐epaa@ec.europa.eu by at 12:00 (noon) Monday, October 5.